通过时间-空间的注视模型分析识别孤独症个体

在一项旨在开发一种对孤独症进行识别的客观指标的研究中,研究团队使用Tobii眼动仪记录了当被试者观察视频片段时的注视位置。通过对时间-空间的注视模型进行分析,研究人员开发出了一种可用于孤独症患者识别的定量方法。

研究背景与目标

孤独症是一种带有社交缺陷特征的发育障碍,这种病症的患病人数在过去的30年中增加了十倍。对孤独症的诊断取决于是否每种症状都符合诊断的标准的正确判断。这意味着虽然可以召集专家到现场进行准确的诊断,但却无法满足越来越多的孤独症诊断需求。因此,开发一套可以被非专业人士使用的能够准确地(准度度可与经过训练的专家相媲美)对孤独症进行诊断的系统是非常必要的。

眼动数据分析就是这套系统的其中一个候选方案。近年来,无需佩戴任何束缚性设备的非侵入式眼动追踪系统的准确度有了很大的提高。这种新技术已使对婴幼儿的眼动追踪测试与成人一样容易。

本研究的目标是开发一种既可用于成年人也可用于青少年的通过眼动测量数据来识别孤独症个体的定量方法。

通过引入眼动追踪技术,就算是非专业人士也能够从非言语儿童被试者获得充足的数据。此方法可应用到更广泛的情形中,如儿童发育障碍的识别等。

Professor Shigeru Kitazawa, Department of Dynamic Brain Networks, Graduate School of Frontier Biosciences, Osaka University

研究工具与方法

研究结论

参考文献

1. Nakano, T. et al. Atypical gaze patterns in children and adults with autism spectrum disorders dissociated from developmental changes in gaze behaviour. Proc R Soc B277, 2935-43 (2010).
2. Hosozawa, M., Tanaka, K., Shimizu, T., Nakano, T. & Kitazawa, S. How Children With Specific Language Impairment View Social Situations: An Eye Tracking Study.Pediatrics129, e1453-e1460 (2012).

相关信息

联系我们

联系销售

Eye tracking for identifying autism

In a research project aimed at developing an objective index to identify autism in patients, subjects were recorded with Tobii Pro eye trackers while viewing video clips. By analyzing gaze patterns, researchers developed a quantitative method to help diagnose autism.

Background and objectives

The prevalence of autism, a developmental disorder characterized by impairments in social interaction and communication, has increased tenfold in the last 30 years. The diagnosis depends on correct judgments as to whether each symptom listed in the diagnostic criteria is met or not. This means an accurate diagnosis of autism calls for an expert in the field, but there are too few of these to meet the increasing needs of the population. Consequently, there is a demand for a system that can be used by non-experts with an accuracy comparable to that of someone trained in this disorder.

Gaze analysis can be used as an autism diagnosis system. In recent years, unobtrusive eye tracking systems without a chin rest or headgear have become increasingly accurate. This new technology has made eye tracking infants and young children as easy as testing adult participants.

The objective for the researchers at Osaka University was to develop a quantitative scale for identifying individuals with autism based on gaze measurement data that could be applied to adults, as well as children.

By using eye tracking, even a non-expert is able to draw ample information from non-verbal children. The method has a wide range of applications such as screening of developmental disorders in children.

Professor Shigeru Kitazawa, Department of Dynamic Brain Networks, Graduate School of Frontier Biosciences, Osaka University

Tools and methods

Results

References

1. Nakano, T. et al. Atypical gaze patterns in children and adults with autism spectrum disorders dissociated from developmental changes in gaze behaviour. Proc R Soc B277, 2935-43 (2010).
2. Hosozawa, M., Tanaka, K., Shimizu, T., Nakano, T. & Kitazawa, S. How Children With Specific Language Impairment View Social Situations: An Eye Tracking Study.Pediatrics129, e1453-e1460 (2012).

Related information